Skip to main content Skip to navigation

People

Graduate Faculty

Graduate faculty can serve as advisors for graduate students. They are located across the state, both at the Pullman campus, the WSU-TriCities Campus, or one of the various Research and Extension Centers.

Pullman

Stephen Ficklin

Assistant Professor

Systems genetics

stephen.ficklin@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 335-4295

Richard Knowles

Professor

Potato agronomy, postharvest physiology, variety development, plant growth regulation

rknowles@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 335-3451

Dorrie Main

Professor

Bioinformatics

dorrie@wsu.edu 

Ph. (509) 335-2774

Cameron Peace

Associate Professor

DNA-informed breeding for tree fruit

cpeace@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 335-6899

Tri-Cities

Tom Collins

Assistant Professor

Grape and wine chemistry

tom.collins@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 372-7515

Mount Vernon

Lisa DeVetter

Assistant Professor

Berry crop production and physiology

lisa.devetter@wsu.edu

Ph. (360) 848-6124

Prosser

Matthew Whiting 

Professor

High efficiency orchard systems, applied whole-tree physiology

mdwhiting@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 786-9260

Puyallup

Patrick Moore

Professor

Strawberry and raspberry plant breeding and genetics

moorepp@wsu.edu

Ph. (253) 445-4525

Wenatchee

Lee Kalcsits

Assistant Professor

Tree fruit physiology

lee.kalcsits@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 663-8181 ext. 229

Stefano Musacchi

Associate Professor

Tree fruit physiology and management

stefano.musacchi@wsu.edu

Ph. (509) 663-8181 ext. 236

Non-Graduate Faculty

Non-graduate faculty do not serve as graduate student  committee major advisors.

Research Faculty

Sook Jung, Assistant Research Professor, sook_jung@wsu.edu

Focus area:

 

Lisa Knowles, Assistant Research Professor, lknowles@wsu.edu

Focus area: Potato postharvest physiology

 

G.N. Mohan Kumar, Associate Research Professor, gnmkumar@wsu.edu

Focus area: Potato physiology/biochemistry, plant propagation, nutraceuticals

 

Sara Serra, Assistant Research Professor, sara.serra@wsu.edu

Focus Area: Tree Fruit

Teaching Faculty

Carol Kawula

  • CS/HORT 102:  Introduction to Cultivated Plants
  • HORT 330: Landscape Plants for Urban and Community Environments
  • HORT 331: Landscape Plant Installation and Management

 

Jamie Holden

  • HORT 150: The Art and Science of Growing Plants [BSCI]
  • HORT 357: Greenhouse Management and Crop Production
  • HORT 358:: Greenhouse Management and Crop Production Lab

Emeritus Faculty

  • Ahmed Ahmedullah
  • Andy Anderson
  • Preston Andrews
  • Leonard Askham
  • Bruce Barritt
  • Don Elfving
  • John Fellman
  • Bill Hendrix
  • Larry Hiller
  • Rita Hummel
  • Willy Iritani
  • Eugene Kupferman
  • Fenton Larsen
  • Ginny Lohr
  • Ray Maleike
  • Bob Norton
  • Max Patterson
  • Mack Roberts
  • Kurt Schekel
  • Larry Schrader
  • Bob Thornton

Staff

Lorie Mochel

Administrative Manager

lorie@wsu.edu

Adē Snider

Administrative Assistant 3

amsnider@wsu.edu