WSU CAHNRS

College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences

Department of Horticulture

Department Personnel

B.W. Poovaiah, Interim Department Chair

Information for employees

FACULTY

Title

Area of Expertise

Contact

PULLMAN

Andrews, Preston Associate Professor Fruit biology, environmental stress management, sustainable farming systems andrewsp@wsu.edu
509.335.3603
Dhingra, Amit Associate Professor Tree fruit genomics and tissue culture adhingra@wsu.edu
509.335.3625
Du, Liqun Associate Research Professor liqundu@wsu.edu
509.335.2462
Fellman, John Professor Postharvest physiology, biochemistry of secondary metabolism in fruits and vegetables fellman@wsu.edu
509.335.3454
Jung, Sook Assistant Research Professor 989.791.9691
Knowles, Lisa Assistant Research Professor Potato postharvest physiology lknowles@wsu.edu
509.335.1874
Knowles, Richard Professor Potato agronomy, postharvest physiology, variety development, plant growth regulation rknowles@wsu.edu
509.335.3451
Kumar, G.N. Mohan Associate Research Professor Potato physiology/biochemistry, plant propagation, nutraceuticals gnmkumar@wsu.edu
509.335.3455
Lohr, Virginia Professor Environmental horticulture lohr@wsu.edu
509.335.3101
Main, Dorrie Associate Professor Bioinformatics dorrie@wsu.edu
509.335.2774
Pavek, Mark Associate Professor Potato agronomy and variety development mjpavek@wsu.edu
509.335.6861
Peace, Cameron Associate Professor DNA-informed breeding for tree fruit cpeace@wsu.edu
509.335.6899
Poovaiah, B.W. (Joe) WSU Regents Professor and Interim Dept. Chair Calcium/calmodulin-mediated signaling in plants poovaiah@wsu.edu
509.335.2487

TRI-CITIES

Bondada, Bhaskar  Associate Professor  Grapevine physiology and anatomy bbondada@wsu.edu
509.372.7348

MOUNT VERNON

Miles, Carol Professor Vegetable crop production, alternative crops, organic production, hard cider milesc@wsu.edu
360.848.6150
Wasko DeVetter, Lisa Assistant Professor Berry crop production and physiology lisa.devetter@wsu.edu
360.848.6124

PROSSER

Keller, Markus Professor Viticulture, grape physiology mkeller@wsu.edu
509.786.9263
Moyer, Michelle Assistant Professor Viticulture, grapevine stress response, integrated pest management, Extension michelle.moyer@wsu.edu
509.786.9234
Oraguzie, Nnadozie Associate Professor Plant breeding and genetics noraguzie@wsu.edu
509.786.9271
Whiting, Matthew Associate Professor High efficiency orchard systems, applied whole-tree physiology mdwhiting@wsu.edu
509.786.9260

PUYALLUP

Chalker-Scott, Linda Associate Professor Urban horticulture, environmental horticulture, arboriculture, Extension education lindacs@wsu.edu
253.445.4542
Hummel, Rita Associate Professor Environmental horticulture hummelrl@wsu.edu
253.445.4524
Moore, Patrick Professor Strawberry and raspberry plant breeding and genetics moorepp@wsu.edu
253.445.4525

WENATCHEE

Evans, Katherine Associate Professor Pome fruit breeding and genetics kate_evans@wsu.edu
509.663.8181 ext. 245
Kalcsits, Lee Assistant Professor Tree fruit physiology lee.kalcsits@wsu.edu
509.663.8181 ext. 229
Layne, Desmond Professor General pomology, tree physiology, germplasm evaluation, orchard systems, Extension outreach desmond.layne@wsu.edu 509.663.8181 ext. 233
Musacchi, Stefano Associate Professor Tree fruit physiology and management stefano.musacchi@wsu.edu 509.663.8181 ext. 236

ADJUNCT/AFFILIATE

Chris Benedict Ines Hanrahan David R. Rudell
Chuck R. Brown Pete Jacoby Julie M. Tarara
Jeremy Cowan Teresa C. Koenig Robert K. (Rob) Thornton
Claire J. Coyne James P. Mattheis Tim Waters
Eric E. Curry Jim McFerson Carrie H. Wohleb
Joan R. Davenport Rebecca J. McGee Wade H. Wolfe
Gerald E. Edwards Donald McMoran (Email) Yanmin Zhu
Lee E. Hadwiger Kim D. Patten

EMERITUS

Bill Ackley Bill Hendrix Max Patterson
Ahmed Ahmedullah Larry Hiller Mack Roberts
Andy Anderson Willy Iritani Kurt Schekel
Leonard Askham Eugene Kupferman Larry Schrader
Bruce Barritt Fenton Larsen Bob Thornton
Darrel Bienz Ray Maleike
Don Elfving Bob Norton

RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

PULLMAN

Karen J. Adams, Research Assistant (karen_adams@wsu.edu)
Chun-Huai Cheng, Associate in Research (chun_huai.cheng@wsu.edu)
Daniel Edge-Garza, Associate in Research (esteboone@wsu.edu)
Stephen Ficklin, Postdoctoral Research Associate (864) 656-4298
Artemus Harper, Associate in Research (artemus_harper@wsu.edu)
Zach Holden, Research Intern (zholden@wsu.edu)
Jodi Humann, Research Associate (jhumann@wsu.edu)
Taein Lee, Associate in Research (leetaei@wsu.edu)
Scott Mattinson, Associate in Research (dmattinson@wsu.edu)
Julia Piaskowski, Postdoctoral Research Associate (jpiaskowski@wsu.edu)
Nathan Tarlyn, Research Intern (ntarlyn@wsu.edu)
Jing Yu, Postdoctoral Research Associate (jing.yu@wsu.edu)
Ping Zheng, Research Associate (ping_zheng@wsu.edu)

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Lorie Mochel, Administrative Manager (lorie@wsu.edu)
Adē Snider, Administrative Assistant 3 (amsnider@wsu.edu)

TECHNICAL STAFF

Theresa Beaver, V & E Certificate Coordinator (tbeaver@wsu.edu)
Cameron Burt, Agricultural Research Technologist 2 (cameron.burt@wsu.edu)
Nora Fuller, Agricultural Research Technologist 3 (fullern@wsu.edu)
Raul Garza, Jr., Plant Technician 3, Othello Res. Station (rudy_garza@wsu.edu)
James Holden, Scientific Assistant (holdenjw@wsu.edu)
Caroline Pearson-Mims, Instr. & Classroom Support Tech. 2 (pearson@wsu.edu)
Deb Pehrson, Farm Manager, Tukey Horticulture Orchard (debpehrson@wsu.edu)
Josh Rodriguez, Farmer 2, Othello Res. Station (josue_rodriguez@wsu.edu)
Terry Rowland, Lab Assistant 1(terrence_rowland@wsu.edu)

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Information for Dept. Employees

Department of Horticulture, PO Box 646414, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-6414, 509-335-9502, Contact Us
© 2014 Washington State University | Accessibility | Policies | Copyright | Log in